Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica Website
Thursday, 09 July 2020

Four women and four men were, on Monday July 10, sworn in at the eleventh inaugural meeting of the Loubiere/Madrelle/Fond Baron Village Council.

Newly sworn in Chairperson is Kathleen John- Baptiste and Vice Chairperson- Derwin Peltier.

The Hon Prime Minister, Dr Roosevelt Skerrit commended the new council for consenting to serve their communities.

“You have to remain steadfast, you have to remain focused on the task that you have at hand and to continue to work for the well-being of the people. I’m going to work with you to be the most successful chairperson Loubiere has seen.”

The Hon Minister for Social Services, Lady Catherine Daniel highlighted the integral role that councils play in adding value to the programmes of central Government. “Most recently, you will observe that you have greater responsibility as a council with the investment of funds for several community programmes. I am very impressed with the information that I have received on the many initiatives…that have helped to improve the quality of life of residents of Loubiere/ Madrelle/ Fond Baron/ Wallhouse/ Castle Comfort,” she remarked.

Newly sworn-in Chairperson, Kathleen John-Baptiste stated the council’s intention to work hard to make the community a better place to live in and appealed to residents to assist the council to serve them better.

She revealed several plans for the council’s jurisdiction including rehabilitation of several roads such as the streets south and west of Leopold drive, Lesley street, Asian view road and the roads leading to Giraudel and Roseau.

Other counsellors sworn in were Al James, Alison Elizabeth Alfred, Desra Jude, Garth Thomas, Kervin Jack and Shayen Jno Baptiste.

Outgoing chairperson is Rosamound Le Bruin; she served for three terms.

Find Us On Facebook