Government of the Commonwealth of Dominica Website
Friday, 14 December 2018

Forty-eight teachers and education officers who gave long and dedicated service in the education sector in Dominica were honored at a Retirees Awards Dinner on Saturday April 21st, 2012.

The event was organized by the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development to pay tribute to educators who contributed significantly to the teaching profession for over thirty years.

Education Minister, Hon. Petter Saint Jean during his speech at the ceremony applauded the retirees for their role in shaping the lives of young people in Dominica.

“You are all well entitled to take credit for laying the foundation for the success of our beloved country. I want you all to feel proud, secure in the knowledge that your influence impacted positively on our Dominica. Many of you took advantage of every opportunity you had to help mould and form your students. For some of you it took great personal sacrifice, it meant even neglecting your own families”.

The Education Minister said: “You became teachers to make a difference in the life of that little boy or little girl. Your impact on the lives on the student is ever present in every nook and cranny of our beloved country. The achievements of this generation, this Dominica belong to you”.

Honorable Saint Jean commended the retired teachers for their tenacity and dedication to the teaching profession saying that the retirees were instrumental in laying the foundation for a successful Dominica.

“You indeed made an investment in your country. Let me assure you that your work has directly impacted the present fortunes of our beloved country. Without your hard work, preparing young minds to become productive members of our society, we could not have survived the challenges of the past decade”.

The Chief Education Officer, Stephenson Hyacinth in his remarks said “the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development is proud to acknowledge the accomplishments and service of the awardees.

Steve Hyacinth said “Your names are printed on the walls of the schools which you served with distinction and on the walls of each classroom in which you were the decision maker and engaged students in the learning process. History will remember you for the work you have done, upholding the standard of true professionalism and demonstrating your love for and patience with every little boy or girl who entered your classroom school irrespective from where they came from. You deserve our commendation and we salute and honor you this evening”.

Hon. Ambrose George represented Prime Minister Hon. Roosevelt Skerrit at the recognition ceremony. Hon. George is hoping that the teachers though retired, will continue to make a contribution to Dominica while enjoying their retirement years.

“Some of you are still very young, and I am sure that whilst you retire today that you will find yourself engaged in some activity which I am sure will assist you in enjoying your retirement. I know there are many opportunities whether it is volunteering or otherwise that can interest you so that you can be meaningfully engaged during your retirement”.

Musical performances at the awards and recognition ceremony came from the Sisserou Singers, Fatima Noel and teachers Asher Thomas and Kishon Florent.

The retired teachers who received awards were: Melizia St. Aime, Clara Savarin, Sonia Christian, Meldora Lawrence, Helen Warrington, Josephine Jemmot, Glorine Thomas, Joyce Celestine, Augustina Francis, Carol Prosper, Catherine Larocque, Cynthia Morvan, Mariane Austrie, Mona Thomas, Judith Alick, Beverly Williams, Bernie Abraham, Margaret Romain, Irose Thomas, Merle Lawrence, Jane Cornelius, Charlotte Joseph, Judith Mitchel, Starry Williams, Athelstane Seraphin, Ann Joseph, Merle St. Louis, Angelina Martin, Gloria Webb, Theresa Hector, Allan Moise, Timothy Moise, Geraldine Timothy, Jualine Charles, Roslyn Fontaine, Mariane Austrie, Claudette Shillingford, Lucille Blackman, Marcella Severin, Arlington Burnette, Joyce Dupuis, Arthlene Douglas-Murdoch, Bentley Royer, Vyleen Royer, Cynthia Bernabe, Lucina Lafond-Charles, Clementina Liverpool-Paul, and Isa Dorsette.

Find Us On Facebook